Home » News » Here

Latest News

< Back to posts

The 2019 College of Paramedics Award presentations at the National Conference

Posted: 21.05.2019

Comments: 0

The first presentation of ParaCon19 was at the AGM, Adam Luxford was presented with the International Zoll Scholarship Award having won an opportunity to travel abroad to learn from high performing organisations and attend an international conference, all sponsored by Zoll.

Diners at the College of Paramedics Awards evening saw 11 presentations, starting with the joint winners of the Roland Furber Award, Lauren Orchard and Rob Stanfield. They won attendance at ParaCon19, sponsored by Class Publishing. 

Rohan Gupta, a student at Oxford Brookes University was presented with the Carol Furber Award plate, having won with a thoughtful and critical, reflective case study.

The winner of the inaugural John Hinds Scholarship Award was Dave Murtagh from the National Ambulance Service of Ireland in Kilkenny. He will receive a Delta7 pin and t-shirt and a place at the Anaesthesia Trauma and Critical Care (ATACC) course, sponsored by Galen.

Annabel Law, 2019 Paramedic Student of the Year, nominated by Teesside University for her professional, passionate approach to her studies and placements.

Steve Hatton, of NHS Pathways and Yorkshire Ambulance Service, received a Fellowship for his outstanding contributed to improving paramedic practice and the growth and development of the College.

Tim Jones of the Welsh Ambulance Service was recognised with a Fellowship for decades of dedication and contributions to supporting paramedics and prehospital care.

Kevan Whitehouse of Yorkshire Ambulance Service received his Fellowship for his career full of innovation leading to improvements in paramedic practice.

Graham Harris received his Lifetime Achievement Award for over 40 years of impeccable and dedicated service to the public, the profession and the College.

Shaun Tierney from North West Ambulance Service won both the BPJ Golden Nugget prize and the Audience Choice award, which were presented by Dave Page, Director of the Prehospital Care Research Forum at UCLA, Julia Williams, College of Paramedics Head of Research and Richard Pilbery, Editor of the BPJ.  

The winners of the Research Small Grants Prizes were Peter Eaton Williams, Betty Pennington and Barry Handyside. We were pleased that Betty was able to join us and be presented on the night. 

Display Comments +

Add your comment +

You need to complete all required information before making a comment